home board salanga alcala awardees Features

2017 Awardees

34rd National Children's Book Day


July 21, 2017


  • Genaro Gojo Cruz
    Dalawa Kami ni Lola (grand prize)
  • Genaro Gojo Cruz
    Pamilya Papel (honorable mention)
  • Imelda Estrella
    May Lihim ang Dagat (honorable mention)


  • Sophia Lorraine Demanawa (grand prize)
  • Arade Louise Villena (honorable mention)
  • Mary Grace Theresa Dulawan (honorable mention)
  • Christian Oliver Cruz (honorable mention)
  • Irene Rose Buenaventura (honorable mention)


Back-to-back Winner
for 2017 PBBY-Salanga Prize

The Philippine Board on Books for Young People declared Genaro Gojo Cruz as the grand prize winner of the 2017 PBBY-Salanga Prize. Gojo Cruz bagged the Salanga prize with his story Dalawa Kami ni Lola, a story about a child and his grandmother.

This is Gojo Cruz's second grand prize win. Gojo Cruz, a children's book author and professor, won the grand prize last year. For his win, Gojo Cruz will receive 25,000 pesos and a medal.

Gojo Cruz's story, Pamilya Papel was also declared honorable mention alongside Imelda Estrella's story, May Lihim ang Dagat.

Winners will be awarded during the celebration of the National Children's Book Day on July 18, 2017.

For inquiries about the contest, contact the PBBY Secretariat at telephone number 352-6765 loc. 203 or e-mail pbby@adarna.com.ph.


Art Student Bags 2017 PBBY-Alcala Prize

This year's PBBY-Alcala Grand Prize winner is art student Sophia Lorraine Demanawa, from the Ateneo De Manila University. Demanawa is studying Information Design and is an active member of Blue Indie Komiks (BLINK). She earned the judges' unanimous vote for her "fresh" portrayal of Genaro Gojo Cruz's Dalawa Kami ni Lola. Gojo Cruz's story bagged the 2017 PBBY-Salanga Prize. Aside from illustrating, Demanawa also enjoys making comics, designing gig posters, and writing poetry.

Four other illustrators were chosen as Honorable Mention: Arade Louise Villena, Mary Grace Theresa Dulawan, Christian Oliver Cruz, and Irene Rose Buenaventura.

The winners will be awarded at the National Children's Book Day (NCBD) celebration on July 18, 2017 at the Cultural Center of the Philippines.

For inquiries about the contest and the NCBD celebration, contact the PBBY Secretariat at telephone number 352-6765 loc 204 or e-mail pbby@adarna.com.ph.



2017 Alcala Illustrators Prize

Grand Prize Winner
Sophia Lorraine Demanawa

Mark Andres

Mark Andres

View winning illustrations