home board salanga alcala awardees Features

The PBBY Board

People behind PBBY


The PBBY is a private, non-stock, non-profit organization committed to the development of children's literature in the Philippines. The PBBY is the lead agency in the celebration of National Children's Book Day (NCBD). This is celebrated every third week of July to commemorate the anniversary of the publication of Jose Rizal's "The Monkey and the Turtle" in Trubner's Oriental Record in London.

The PBBY is composed of permanent and institutional members and individuals representing different sectors. The institutional members are The National Library, the Cultural Center of the Philippines, and Museo Pambata. The individual members represent educators, researchers, librarians, book reviewers, writers, illustrators, storytellers, publishers, booksellers and mass media.


  • Tarie Sabido (Chair)
  • Dina Ocampo (Vice-Chair)
  • Ani Rosa Almario (Secretary-General)
  • Victor Villanueva (Treasurer)


  • The National Library
  • Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) represented by
    Hermie Beltran
  • Museo Pambata represented by Dr. Nina Lim-Yuson


  • Emily Abrera (mass media)
  • Karina Africa-Bolasco (booksellers)
  • Tarie Sabido (book reviewers)
  • Dr. Luis Gatmaitan (writers)
  • Victor Villanueva (educators, basic education)
  • Ramon Sunico (educators, tertiary)
  • Dina Ocampo (researchers)
  • Fran Ong (publishers)
  • Ruben de Jesus (illustrators)
  • Zarah Gagatiga (librarians)
  • Rey Bufi (storytellers)
  • Inquirer Read-Along (reading advocacy)


  • Dr. Lucrecia Kasilag †, National Artist

Ang Pambihirang Buhok ni Raquel
Dr. Luis Gatmaitan (author)
Beth Parrocha-Doctolero (illustrator)

1998 Salanga Prize
Honorable Mention